

SELECTMEN'S MEETING Tremont Town Office Harvey Kelley Meeting Room 6:00 p.m. ~ Monday, August 18, 2014

MINUTES

- 1. CALL TO ORDER: Chair Katherine Thurston called the August 18,2014 Selectman's meeting to order at 6:00 PM
- 2. ROLL CALL: Chair Katherine Thurston and Selectmen Dean Wass and Chris Eaton. Also attending were Interim Town Manager Dana Reed, Recording Secretary Lynn Wehrfritz, Fire Chief Keith Higgins, Reporter Mark Good and the visitors shown on the attached list.
- **3. ADOPTION OF AGENDA:** No Changes were made.
- 4. APPROVAL OF MINUTES:
 - A. August 4, 2014

A motion was made by Chris Eaton and seconded by Dean Wass to approve the August 4, 2014 minutes. The motion passed unanimously

5. APPROVAL OF WARRANTS:

Warrant #13	\$9,344.85
Warrant #14	\$8,004.09
Warrant #15	\$3,149.25
Warrant # 16	\$390.20
Warrant #17	\$8,051.91
Warrant #18	\$106,584.32

A motion was made by Chris Eaton and seconded by Dean Wass to approve the Warrants # 13 through #18. The motion passed unanimously

6. COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS: Appointments to fill expiring terms on Town boards and committees:

A. Recreation Board

A motion was made by Chris Eaton and seconded by Dean Wass to appoint Jayson Clough to the Recreation Board for a term of 3 years. The motion passed unanimously

A motion was made by Chris Eaton and seconded by Dean Wass to appoint Crystal LaPrade to the Recreation Board for a term of 3 years. The motion passed unanimously

B. Seal Cove Ramp Committee

A motion was made by Chris Eaton and seconded by Dean Wass to appoint Megan Smith to the Seal Cove Ramp Committee for a term of 3 years. The motion passed unanimously

A motion was made by Chris Eaton and seconded by Dean Wass to appoint David Campbell to the Seal Cove Ramp Committee for a term of 3 years. The motion passed unanimously.

C. Harbor Committee

A motion was made by Dean Wass and seconded by Katherine Thurston to postpone this set of appointments until it is determined there are no other folks interested and bring back the appointments at a future Selectmen Meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

D. Cemetery Committee

A motion was made by Chris Eaton and seconded by Dean Wass to appoint Frank Gray to the Cemetery Committee for a term of 3 years. The motion passed unanimously

A motion was made by Chris Eaton and seconded by Dean Wass to appoint David Campbell to the Cemetery Committee for a term of 3 years. The motion passed unanimously

A motion was made by Chris Eaton and seconded by Dean Wass to appoint Lori Goodwin to the Cemetery Committee for a term of 3 years. The motion passed unanimously

A motion was made by Chris Eaton and seconded by Dean Wass to appoint Beth Closson to the Cemetery Committee for a term of 3 years . The motion passed unanimously

E. Zoning Advisory Committee

A motion was made by Chris Eaton and seconded by Dean Wass to appoint Keith Higgins to the Zoning Advisory Committee for a term of 3 years. The motion passed unanimously

F. Bass Harbor Library

A motion was made by Chris Eaton and seconded by Dean Wass to appoint Spencer Ervin to the Bass Harbor Library Committee for a term of 3 years. The motion passed unanimously

A motion was made by Chris Eaton and seconded by Dean Wass to appoint Peter Madeira to the Bass Harbor Library Committee for a term of 3 years. The motion passed unanimously

G. Solid Waste Committee

A motion was made by Chris Eaton and seconded by Dean Wass to appoint Beth Gott to the Solid Waste Committee for a term of 3 years. The motion passed unanimously

H. Warrant Committee

A motion was made by Chris Eaton and seconded by Dean Wass to appoint Frank Gray to the Warrant Committee for a term of 3 years. The motion passed unanimously

I. Planning Board

A motion was made by Chris Eaton and seconded by Dean Wass to appoint Linda Graham to the Planning Board for a term of 3 years. The motion passed unanimously

A motion was made by Chris Eaton and seconded by Dean Wass to appoint Maynard Young to the Planning Board for a term of 3 years. The motion passed unanimously

J. Board of Appeals

A motion was made by Chris Eaton and seconded by Dean Wass to appoint Joanne Harris to the Board of Appeals for a term of 3 years. The motion passed unanimously.

A motion was made by Chris Eaton and seconded by Dean Wass to appoint Mel Atherton to the Board of Appeals Committee for a term of 3 years. The motion passed unanimously.

K. Acadia National Park Advisory Commission

A motion was made by Chris Eaton and seconded by Dean Wass to recommend appointment of Ms. Carolyn Gothard to the Acadia National Park Advisory Commission. The motion passed unanimously

7. REGULAR BUSINESS:

A. **Mutual Aid Agreement:** Request of the Fire Chief for approval of a mutual aid agreement with other area fire departments.

A motion was made by Chris Eaton and seconded by Dean Wass to approve the idea of a mutual aid agreement with other area fire departments and to request the Town Manager to return to the Selectmen with a draft agreement. The motion unanimously.

B. **Parking:** Progress reports by the Town Manager:

Dana Reed reminded the selectmen of their special meeting with the Harbor Committee on Wednesday, August 20 at 5:00 p.m. and reported on the progress of the construction of additional parking on the Closson Lot. He also advised the Board of recent parking problems on the Bernard Road Parking Lot.

C. **Collaboration:** Discussion of the League of Towns annual goal setting meeting for elected officials scheduled for October 15 from 5:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. at the Somesville Fire Station.

Dana Reed announced the upcoming annual goal setting meeting with other elected officials and asked that the Selectmen RSVP by early September, so that we can give a head count to the caterer.

8. TOWN MANAGER'S REPORT

A verbal report of recent staff activity was submitted by Dana Reed.

9. SUGGESTIONS/COMMENTS FOR NEXT MEETING: Any other items which may come in late and are for the board's information purposes only. No action will be taken, except that the board may request a matter be placed on the next agenda.

It was requested that the Harbor Committee appointments be placed on the next agenda.

10. NEXT MEETING DATE: Adoption of a motion to set the date of the next meeting.

A motion was made to set the date of the next meeting for September 2. Motion made unanimously

11. ADJOURNMENT:

A motion was made by Chris Eaton and seconded by Dean Wass to adjourn the meeting at 6:55 p.m. The motion passed unanimously.

Respectfully submitted,
Lynn Wehrfritz
Recording Secretary

Approved,
Tremont Board of Selectmen

Chris Eaton

Dean Wass

Bobby Lee

Stewart Murphy

Katharine Thurston